More fleadh disruption

by planetparker

During my “fun run” today with my companion Pat along the Cathedral Road, our way was impeded by a man with what appeared to be a vacuum cleaner distributing water, whose origins were to be found in a mobile tank painted red. It was obvious that he worked for Cavan County Council. He was blocking the pathway and it was incumbent upon us to go out into the road in order to continue on our way. This did not elicit any response or apology for the inconvenience caused from the man with the hosepipe. On passing out in the road I felt duty-bound to ask him what he was doing. “I’m watering the flowers”, he answered in a rather defensive tone, implying that he did not like being questioned by mere members of the public. The flowers in question are contained in baskets attached to poles in a vainglorious and futile attempt to make Cavan appear beautiful. His posture, and the angle at which his hose was held, reminded me ever so much of a man coming out of a pub for a “yoke”, and this in turn set in train thoughts of the men who were told to fight The Great Fire of London during its initial stages by urinating on the flames. I felt duty-bound to say to him. “Well why don’t ya piss on them, or better still get Jack Keys to do it. An’ while he’s at it he could deposit something more solid which he’s full of.” My companion pulled me along, no doubt anxious for my safety.