Corruption in Cavan County Council?

by planetparker

 Does corruption exist in Cavan County Council? One hears rumours, and I suppose there is no smoke without fire. However, they are only rumours, and I’ve never investigated them because, frankly I’m not interested in them.

 All I know is how Cavan County Council have treated me – very badly. They took away the job I had with them, though it was not much of a job. The pay was abysmal and I wasn’t even entitled to holidays, though I took them anyway. Then they have sought to wipe out my reputation as a historian, to the extent that I don’t exist and no one is brave enough to mention my name in some circles. But their most recent dastardly act, carried out ostensibly with the co-operation of the Department of the Environment, has been to take away my ability to vote in this year’s elections, along with that of my 91-year-old father.

 These cretinous acts belong to a mere handful of self-important nobodies in the organisation. The vast plethora of employees are simple, decent folk, though some of them have far too much time on their hands, yet this is a problem of ineffective management. Some of them used to be my friends, but during my recent illness only three came to see me or enquire after me.

 If Cavan County Council is corrupt I fear that it certainly isn’t alone among local authorities,, but then this sorry state of affairs merely represents their superiors in the Department of the Environment. They now have the impudence to assume that every household in Ireland pay a household charge, but let’s call it by its proper name: a poll tax. As for the minister he has the cojones to stand up to his officials. In fact, he is about as effective as a life-size mascot at a hurling club match in his native Kilkenny.